The Different Dimensions of Managerial Innovation

Keys to understanding and getting into action

The framework

Observations, comments and analyses relating to managerial changes under way in companies provide an overview of the great variety of the managerial practices and innovations being experimented with and their varying degrees of success. How can the truly fundamental changes be identified? And how can one discern whether they are truly managerial innovations? How can they be characterised to provide tools in support of action?

Towards an Understanding of Managerial Innovations

CIME's activities have made it possible to bring together a rich and diversified body of research relating to a great variety of managerial innovations and observed experiments. While each of these has been recorded in company case study files (see "Company Case Studies"), together they have made it possible by means of inductive logic, to draw up a typology of managerial innovations we propose for adoption as a pragmatic and simplified approach to addressing the challenges faced by companies in this area.

Company Case Studies

11 companies are analysed according to a common template: the context, the managerial innovation observed, its innovative character, and the role of the HR function. These cases are looked at from the perspective of the typology put forward by CIME (a proposed typology of managerial innovations).

Lessons Learned

The company case studies are instructive in that they identify the key actors, the role of the HR function, and the questions that need to be asked to guarantee successful managerial innovation at the service of the company's transformation.

L’innovation managériale dans tous ses états

Clefs de lecture et d'action

Le cadre

Les observations, commentaires et analyses des évolutions managériales en cours dans les entreprises dessinent un paysage de chantier, dans lequel des pratiques diverses sont lancées avec des succès variables, comme autant de transformations et innovation managériales revendiquées et hétérogènes. Comment discerner les évolutions de fond ? En quoi sont-elles ou non des innovations managériales ? Comment les caractériser pour favoriser l’aide à l’action ?

Vers une grille de lecture des innovations managériales

Les activités de Cime ont permis de rassembler un matériau riche et diversifié, autant d'innovations managériales que d'expériences observées ! Si chacune a donné lieu à une fiche "cas d'entreprise" (détaillées dans "Cas d'entreprise"), l'ensemble permet dans une logique inductive de dessiner une typologie des innovations managériales que nous nous proposons d'adopter pour une approche plus pragmatique et simplifiée des enjeux des entreprises en la matière.

Les cas d'entreprise

11 entreprise sont analysées selon une structure commune : le contexte, l'innovation managériale observée, son caractère innovant et le rôle de la fonction RH. Ces cas sont regardés selon le prisme de la typologie proposée par Cime (vers une typologie des innovations managériales)

Les enseignements

Les cas d'entreprise permettent de tirer des enseignements de différentes natures : qui sont les acteurs clés ? quel rôle pour la fonction RH ? quels questionnements pour garantir les conditions de succès d'une innovation managériale au service de la transformation de l'entreprise ?